17th CMA launched

The 17th Citi Microentrepreneurship Awards (CMA) that honors microentrepreneurs who have succeeded with the help of microfinance institutions, was launched at the BSP Executive Business Center Lounge. CMA is a joint undertaking of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), Citi Philippines and Microfinance Council of the Philippines, Inc. (MCPI), and funded by Citi Foundation. Honored during the annual ceremonies are the CMA National Winner, regional awardees from the Philippines three major island groups, Youth Microentrepreneur of the Year and three special awardees in different categories: agriculture, green/sustainable business, community leadership, startup micro-business, persons with disabilities, social innovation, financial technology/digital enterprise and preservation of traditions.

Present during the launch were (L-R) MCPI executive director Allan Robert Sicat, BSP governor Benjamin Diokno, BSP Center for Learning and Inclusion Advocacy managing director Pia Roman Tayag, 2018 Youth Microentrepeneur of the Year Mary Grace Bayalas, BSP deputy governor Chuchi Fonacier, Citi Philippines chief executive officer Aftab Ahmed and Citi Philippines Public Affairs head Lisa Coory.

The national CMA winner will receive P200,000 while the three regional awardees, youth awardee and special awardees will each get P100,000. Deadline for submission of nominations is July 19, 2019. For more information, visit http://www.microfinancecouncil.org.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s