INSPIRED by the successful outcome of TERNOCON 2018, the first ever Terno Making Convention and Contest held last year at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), the CCP and Bench/Suyen Corporation join efforts again to pursue its mission of preserving and promoting the Philippine national dress with TERNOCON 2020 on January 26.The 2020 edition aims to encourage the use of the terno as a popular form of formal dress, and to inspire and motivate emerging designers to create ternos that are at par with the creations of senior designers.

Fourteen designers were chosen as finalists for the competition this year. They are: Abdul Gaffar A. Dianalan (Laguna), Christian Jay P. Martin (Nueva Vizcaya), Xernan A. Orticio (Camarines Sur), Rogelio Samson Pugat, Jr. (Ilocos Norte), Renz Edward L. Reyes (Cavite), Hanz Herzl Pableo (Cebu City), Christopher L. Zamora (Davao City), Hannah Francesca L. Adrias (Pasay), Jennifer Jean A. Dee (Sta. Ana, Manila), Jayson A. Glarino (Valenzuela City), Krizia Kaita A. Jimenez (Quezon City), Windell B. Madis (Makati City), Dinnes Obusan (Makati City), and John Gavin B. Ruffy (Las Piñas City).

Each finalist is required to design and execute a capsule collection of three ternos which can either be cocktail or evening ternos.

From May 27-31, 2019, the 14 finalists will be gathered to attend a weeklong workshop, mentoring and convention at the CCP Silangan Hall.

Notable resource speakers who have enormous contributions to art, culture, design and fashion will talk on specific topics relevant to the program.

Among the speakers are: Dr. Nicanor G. Tiongson (professor & editor of the CCP Encyclopedia of Philippine Art), Felice Sta. Maria (Filipiniana author), Sandra Castro Baker (expert in Philippine fabrics), Cholo Ayuyao (doll couturier), Lenora Cabili (designer of contemporary Filipiniana), Mark Lewis Lim Higgins (painter & fashion educator), Rafael del Casal (portrait artist & ecclesiastical designer).

Ternocon 2020 will have as mentors Inno Sotto (chief mentor), Philip Rodriguez (Cebu’s preeminent designer), Ivarluski Aseron (modernist designer), and Lesley Mobo (international designer) with Gino Gonzales as the Project Director. A series of individual consultations with the mentors will also happen from August to September 2019.

The final competition judging and showcase with cultural program is set for January 26, 2020 at the Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (main theater) of the CCP. The mentors together with the First Prize Winner of TERNOCON 2018, Marlon Tuazon of Pampanga, will showcase their special terno collections during the final competition night on January 26. The criteria for judging are: adherence to competition guidelines, craftsmanship / execution of design/fabrication, creativity, and wearability / functionality.

The 14 finalists will receive a Plaque of Participation and the top three winners will receive cash prizes from Bench/Suyen Corporation.

For more information, contact the CCP Cultural Exchange Department at tel. nos. 832-1125 locals 1708-1709.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s